We went to a library sale a couple weeks ago (yes, it has been that long since I’ve been able to set aside time to write an update!) and I thought I’d share my haul with you. A grocery bag of books for $3 makes you forget to edit your selections before you buy.

IMG_4651

The most….well….unusual book would be “Unusual Vegetables”. There are 79 suggestions of uncommon veggies to grow if you get tired of tomatoes and peppers. I haven’t read the whole thing yet, but there are some interesting suggestions with in depth descriptions of nutritional advantages over more common varieties and instructions of how to grow them successfully.

I also picked up a book called “Carpet Gardening”, which I thought was about low growing alternatives for grass, but it turns out it’s about how to use actual carpets in your garden as mulch. Uh, I don’t think so.

The same day I picked up an extra large garlic roaster and a couple of old ball jars with their seals for $2 at a church sale!

